Buhari confident he has appointed right people in right portfolios


Five months after been sworn in, Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari finally constituted his cabinet. President Buhari was overwhelmingly voted into power on the promise of bringing about change in Africa’s largest economy and its most populous nation. However, since May 29, Nigerians have been waiting to know who will be part of the new government’s team to drive the change agenda.

The ministers who in the past weeks have undergone screen by the country’s senate, are drawn from across the 36 States of Nigeria; regional politics continue to be very pronounced in the country. President Buhari, who comes from the north was already been accused of being biased against some groups of people or ethnicity during his initial appointments.

“Since our inauguration on May 29, 2015, the Vice President and I have been mindful of the need to constitute a cabinet that will best deliver our expectations of a better country than we inherited.” President Buhari stated during the inauguration in Abuja, Wednesday.

In his speech, President Buhari urged his cabinet to contribute to building “a prosperous nation respected for the right reasons, and whose citizens can hold up their heads anywhere in the world.”

It could seem the long wait by the Nigerians was worth it; -the president wanted to ensure that he does not only select the right people to run ministries, but also avoid repeating “such mistakes of the past where the right people were allocated the wrong portfolios.” He stated. Faced with numerous challenges from declining oil prices and foreign reserves, high unemployment levels, insecurity and widespread poverty, President Buhari is hoping the team he has assembled will help him deliver on his promise of diversifying the economy (away from oil) by promoting agriculture and exploring solid minerals as major sources of revenue. The president will head the Petroleum Ministry.

“The primary aim is to achieve self-sufficiency in the production of such staples as rice and wheat and to become a major consumer and exporter of both items as well as solid minerals. We intend to pursue policies that will generate massive employment for millions of our youth.” The president said before unveiling his much awaited cabinet and their portfolios.

Full cabinet is as below (Name (State) – Ministry)

  1. Kemi Adeosun (Ogun) – Finance
  2. Rotimi Amaechi (Rivers)–Transportation
  3. Chris Ngige (Anambra)–Labour and Employment
  4. Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti)–Solid Minerals
  5. Babatunde Fashola (Lagos)–Power, Works and Housing
  6. Abdulrahman Dambazau (Kano)–Interior
  7. Aisha Alhassan (Taraba)–Women Affairs
  8. Ogbonnaya Onu (Ebonyi)–Science and Technology
  9. Abubakar Malami (Kebbi)–Justice
  10. Hadi Sirika (Katsina)–State for Aviation
  11. Suleiman Adamu (Jigawa)–Water Resources
  12. Solomon Dalong (Plateau)–Youths and Sports
  13. Ibeh Kachikwu (Delta)–State for Petroleum
  14. Osagie Ehanire (Edo)–State for Health
  15. Audu Ogbeh (Benue)–Agriculture
  16. Udo Udo Udoma (Akwa Ibom)–Budget and National Planning
  17. Lai Mohammed (Kwara)–Information
  18. Amina Mohammed (Gombe)–Environment
  19. Ibrahim Usman Jibril (Nasarawa)— State for Environment
  20. Anthony Onwuka (Imo) – State for Education
  21. Muhammadu Bello (Adamawa) — FCT
  22. Adamu Adamu (Bauchi) — Education
  23. Okechukwu Enelamah (Abia) – Industry, Trade and Investment
  24. Aisha Abubakar (Sokoto) — State for Trade, Industry and Investment
  25. Khadija Bukar Abba (Yobe) – State for Foreign Affairs
  26. Claudius Daramola (Ondo) – State for Niger Delta
  27. Geoffrey Onyeama (Enugu) — Foreign Affairs
  28. Monsur Dan-Ali (Zamfara) — Defence
  29. James Ocholi (Kogi) – State for Labour
  30. Zainab Ahmed (Kaduna) – State for Budget and National Planning
  31. Mustapha Shehuri (Borno) — State for Power
  32. Heineken Lokpobiri (Bayelsa)–State for Agriculture
  33. Isaac Adewole Folorunsho (Osun) — Health
  34. Usani Usani Uguru (Cross River) — Niger Delta
  35. Abubakar Bwari Bawa (Niger) — State for Solid Minerals
  36. Adebayo Shittu (Oyo) — Communications
  37. Muhammadu Buhari — Petroleum