Kalusha Bwalya loses seat as Football Association of Zambia President


Andrew Kamanga has been elected as president of the Football Association of Zambia (FAZ) replacing Kalusha Bwalya after elections held on Saturday. The new boss at Football house will have to improve upon the success scored by Zambia’s football icon and 1988 Africa Footballer of the year.

Kalusha 52, has been at the helm of Zambian football since 2008 and was seen as the frontrunner in the lead up to the elections. Great Kalu as he is popularly known still serves in the Confederation of African Footabll (CAF) Executive Committee as a member.

Andrew KamangaIncoming Association president, Andrew Kamanga, has promised not to turn Africa’s football legend into a villain. He has however, indicated that he will institute reforms in the way Zambia’s most popular sport is run.

The Lusaka businessman and former chairmen of local club Kabwe Warriors has paid tribute to Kalusha acknowledging the role he has played in putting Zambia on the global footballing map. “This I promise but we will respect the laws of the land and those of football and reforms that have happened in the world will not spare Zambia.” Kamanga said immediately after being declared winner.

Kamanga’s triumph ends Kalusha reign as FAZ president during which Zambia won its first Africa Cup title in 2012. Great Kalu is a darling to millions of football lovers within Zambia and beyond.

However, football house has been linked to numerous allegations of mismanagement during his tenure. Kalusha’s name has also come up in the scandals that rocked the world soccer governing body FIFA. It is alleged that Kalu received $80,000 between 2009 and 2011 to buy Zambia’s vote for Qatar’s’ successful 2022 bid.

Kalusha has always denied any wrong doing maintaining that money was a loan FAZ received when the association facing financial challenges. There is however no record that the money was ever repaid.

After the elections, Richard Kazala declared vice president after beating incumbent Pivoty Simwanza. Lee Kawanu has been re-elected as Executive Committee Member and is joined by new members Blackwell Siwale, Brenda Kunda, Elijah Shenko Chileshe, Kabaso Kapambwe and Dr Joseph Mulenga. Rixie Mweemba was elected unopposed for the position of Treasurer.